The world as I see it — by R C Norman

Image

Fire Destroys Maritime Museum

Fire Destroys Maritime Museum

The Deltaville Maritime Museum, including its many exhibits and some restored wooden boats, was destroyed by fire Wednesday night. Thankfully, no one was harmed, but local officials are still investigating the cause of the blaze, which firefighters battled for hours. Very hot and dry conditions along with substantial fuel provided by wooden boats and the frame building likely contributed to the fire, which started under a shed behind the museum and quickly spread to the adjacent building. The museum was holding its annual boat building week, and participants were building small wooden skiffs in the yard behind the museum. Sources say the fire started in the evening after everyone had left for the day.

This is a very difficult and sad time for the community, which has had its share of recent hardship, including a tornado that devastated the town last year. Museum officials say other museum-related activities will continue, including its monthly Farmers Markets and Grooving in the Park concert series. They also have committed to rebuilding the museum with fundraising support from the community.

I thought the photo I selected for this story was fitting because I snapped this shot of flowers just outside the museum during a Farmer’s Market last year. They symbolize the hope and promise of a new museum that will blossom in the future.
Specs: Nikon D7000, 105 mm, F/10, 1/320, ISO 200
© R C Norman Photography

14 responses

  1. Do you have any video of that? I’d care to find out more details.

    September 13, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    • Sorry, I do not have any video. This happened a couple years ago. The museum has already been rebuilt and is much larger and nicer than before.

      September 16, 2014 at 3:16 pm

  2. beautifull colors … very nice picture …

    August 9, 2012 at 10:20 am

  3. Hopefully insurance will allow them to rebuild. I do have a suggestion, though, and that is to include the city and state name in blog posts like this.

    July 27, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  4. So sorry to hear of this tragedy. Prayers & best wishes for a speedy recovery from such a terrible loss. I can imagine the community has become stronger and determined to make it happen.

    July 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    • Thanks Donna. Appreciate your comments. – Rob

      July 22, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  5. What a loss! I am sorry for your community and for all of us who can’t enjoy the museum’s holdings now that they are gone. Were there many preserved boats that were lost? The nation’s inventory of historic wooden craft is shrinking, and something like this is disheartening.

    Perhaps, though, it will occasion the preservation of other craft in need of help and conservation. There are certainly many rotting hulks around the Chesapeake that have a wonderful story and represent another era of waterborne life.

    Thanks for sharing this, and choosing to post a stunning photo instead of an image of charred wreckage.

    July 21, 2012 at 8:27 am

    • Thanks for your comments, Rick. I’m not sure how many boats were lost, but I know they had at least two under the pavilion in the back where the fire apparently started. I’m sure they also had several wooden skiffs that were being built as part of boat building week. We were told that the building was a “total loss”, so I’m assuming the exhibits inside were mostly destroyed as well. There were numerous small scale replica model boats and ships that I’m sure represented hundreds of hours of painstaking work for those who built and donated them. There were assorted artifacts and a wonderful maritime history as well. This is a setback indeed, but I’m sure the community will pull together and rebuild. It may take a couple years or so, but preserving the seafaring history of this area for future generations is certainly worth the time and effort. Thanks for stopping by.

      July 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  6. I just visited the museum’s website. That was such a nice-looking building. I hope they’re able to raise quickly the funds they need.

    I like how you’ve listed your blog awards. I’m going to copy you, if you don’t mind.

    July 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    • Thanks for commenting, Darla. I hope they can rebound quickly as well. It’s a huge loss for the community, but I’m confident the museum will come back bigger and stronger.

      Please help yourself to “copying” 🙂 I actually had the award images displayed, but thought they distracted from my photos — I think a more subtle approach suits me better. – Rob

      July 21, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  7. Gorgeous photo! Loving your gallery! Keep up the great work!

    July 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    • Thanks for the comment. – Rob

      July 20, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  8. Beautiful photo! I hope the museum gets done in record time!

    July 20, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    • Thanks for your comment. I hope it does too. – Rob

      July 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Leave a comment